Country, Western & Gospel Music

A History And Encyclopedia Of Composers, Artists & Songs

Home Main Menu Singing & Playing Order & Order Info Support Search Voucher Codes

Share page  Visit Us On FB

Previous Contents Next
Gospel Singers: Lee Roy Abernathy; Buford Abner and Swannee River Boys; J. T. Adams; Barnette Brothers; James Blackwood and Blackwood Brothers Quartet; Blue Ridge Quartet; Cavaleers Quartet; Chuck Wagon Gang; John Daniel Quartet; Jimmy Davis; Don and Earl; Florida Boys Quartet; Foggy River Boys (Marks­men); Wally Fowler; Frank Stamps Quartet; Harmo-neers Quartet; Harvesters Quartet; Homeland Harmony Quartet; Johnson Family Singers; Johnson Sisters; Jor-danaires; Keller-York Quartet; LeFevre Quartet; Lewis Family; Masters Family; Marshall Pack; Plainsmen Quartet; Rangers Quartet; Rebels Quartet; Revelaires; Revelators Quartet; Ace Richman and Sunshine Boys Quartet; Senators Quartet; George Beverly Shea; Smith Sacred Singers; Sons of Song; Southern Gospel Singers; Speer Family; Spencer Family; Stamps-Baxter Quartet; Statesmen Quartet; Trace Family; Big Jim Waite; Weatherford Quartet; Wills Family Quartet; etc.
Country Music Association: found in November of 1958; non-profit organization. Purposes: to foster, publicize, and promote country music in every field of entertain­ment, at the local and network level, with special em­phasis on TV bookings and more engagements in N.Y.C., Chicago, and Florida; and to encourage the highest ethics throughout the country music industry. Has quarterly meetings each year, e.g., Shreveport, La.; Mi­ami, Fla.; Toronto, Canada; Washington, D. C; Spring­field, Mo.; and Nashville, Tenn. 18 Directors elected for 2 yr. terms and cannot succeed themselves; Officers elected by Board of Directors for 1 yr. term and may succeed themselves. Officers for 1959: Pres.—Connie B. Gay; 1st V.P.—Eddy Arnold; 2nd V.P.—Harold Moon; Sec.—Mac Wiseman; and Treas.—Hubert Long. Officers for 1960: Pres.—Connie B. Gay; 1st V.P.—Eddy Arnold; 2nd V.P.—Steve Sholes; 3rd V.P.—Henry Clay; Sec-Don Pierce; and Treas.—Mac Wiseman. Harry Stone was Executive Director for 1959, and Wesley Rose is