|Share page||Visit Us On FB|
signor Wiseman was at that time. Bishop Wareing offered to admit him immediately to priest's orders; but this he declined. With his eight disciples, whom he called monks, he established a little community, hoping that a monastery might grow out of it. He took the name of "Brother Wilfrid of the Humanity of Jesus." He himself, as superior, acted as cook; and a friend who visited him in their humble quarters on Caroline Street found him at the fire stirring a kettle of pea-soup. He was dressed in a shaggy woolly cassock, and "looked so gaunt and hungry" that his friend "thought him the very beau-ideal of a wolf in sheep's clothing," though a " most innocent and excellent wolf."
Early in 1846, he went to Rome in the interests of his community, and, like all new converts, was very assiduous on his way in venerating relics and attending services. His letters to his " dear family in Caroline Street" are full of picturesque descriptions, as well as earnest advice. At Rome he became steeped in Catholicism. He and his companion, Mr. Hutchinson, brought back "large stores of rosaries, medals, crucifixes, prints," and similar pious treasures.
Through the munificence of Lord Shrewsbury, the new Oratory was provided with a delightful home at Cotton Hall, near Alton Towers. Shortly after their removal, Faber, who had been so much exhausted and enfeebled by his anxieties, almost completely broke